ACM WiSec 2009

Student Travel Grants

The Student Travel Grants have been awarded. (See Travel Grant Awards.)

ACM Conference on Wireless Network Security (WiSec) would like to encourage graduate student participation in the conference by subsidizing the travel costs of individuals who would otherwise be unable to attend the conference.

Who Should Apply

Any graduate student in good standing, regardless of nationality, or any other criteria, except as noted, may apply. The decisions will be based as much as possible on both what the individual may get from the conference and may bring to the conference. ACM WiSec will cover student registration costs and subsidize travel costs. Each travel grant will include the registration of the conference plus 450CHF.

While any student may apply for this travel support, the selection process will give preference to ACM WiSec 2009 paper authors who are graduate students without sufficient travel funding. Awardees may not simultaneously draw on other sources of ACM funding for their travel or conference expenses.

How to Apply

Applications and supporting letters for a student travel grant should be emailed to the Program Chair, Srdjan Capkun (, between January 15, 2009 and February 16, 2009. Applications submitted outside of the submission period are not guaranteed to be considered. Award announcement will be made on February 18, 2009.

An application should consist of a paragraph stating why attending ACM WiSec 2009 would be useful for his or her research. This paragraph should include (1) the type of paper (if any) she or he will present at ACM WiSec 2009, and (2) the applicant's school.

We also need a note from the student's advisor confirming that the student is a doctoral candidate in good standing.

Travel Grant Evaluation Committee

  • David Basin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Wenke Lee, Georgia Tech, USA

Travel Grant Awards

The following people have been awarded an ACM WiSec'09 Student Travel Grant:

  • Shaoying Cai, Singapore Management University.
  • Jerry Chiang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA.
  • Jing Dong, Purdue University, USA.
  • Xu Nan, City University of Hong Kong.
  • Claudio Soriente, University of California, Irvine, USA.
  • Piotr Szczechowiak, Dublin City University, Ireland.
  • Hailun Tan, University of New South Wales, Australia.
© 2007 Peng Ning . All rights reserved.