ACM SIGSAC Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
ACM CCS 2006

Call for Papers


[Submissions website CLOSED]

The conference seeks submissions from academia and industry presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of computer security, as well as case studies and implementation experiences. Papers should have practical relevance to the construction, evaluation, application, or operation of secure systems. Theoretical papers must make convincing argument for the practical significance of the results.

Topics of interest include:

access control
secure networking
accounting and audit
trust models
key management
intrusion detection
security location services
data and application security
privacy-enhancing technology
inference/controlled disclosure
intellectual property protection
digital rights management
trust management policies
electronic fraud relating to phishing
commercial and industry security
security management
database security
applied cryptography
peer-to-peer security
security for mobile code
cryptographic protocols
data/system integrity
information warfare
identity management
security in IT outsourcing

Paper Submissions:

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Submissions should be at most 10 pages in double-column ACM format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 12 pages overall. Please include page numbers on all submissions to make it easier for reviewers to provide helpful comments. Committee members are not required to read appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Final proceedings versions will be 10 pages in double-column ACM format; although authors will have the option of buying a limited number of additional pages. All submissions should be anonymized (an author’s name should only occur in references to that author’s related work, which should be referenced in the third person and not overtly distinguishable from the referenced work of others). Submission website has been closed. Only pdf or postscript files will be accepted..

Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of May 8, 2007 23:59 Samoa Time (UTC-11). Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published by the ACM in a conference proceedings. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in a special issue of the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security.

Fraudulent submission policy. Simultaneous submission of the same work to multiple venues, submission of previously published work, and plagiarism constitute dishonesty or fraud. CCS, like other scientific and technical conferences and journals, prohibits these practices and may, on the recommendation of a program chair, take action against authors who have committed them. In some cases, program committees may share information about submitted papers with other conference chairs and journal editors to ensure the integrity of papers under consideration. Violation of these principles is a serious matter and will be treated as such.

Important dates:

Paper Submissions due: May 8, 2007 23:59 Samoa Time (UTC-11)
Acceptance notification:
July 23, 2007
Camera-ready papers due:
August 17, 2007 (9 AM EST)

Tutorial Submissions:

Proposals for 90-minute tutorials on research topics of current and emerging interest should be submitted electronically by May 8, 2007. To submit, please send a brief proposal to the Tutorials Chair, Wenliang (Kevin) Du, at .Tutorial proposals must clearly identify the intended audience and any prerequisite knowledge for attendees. Proposals must be no more than one page, and must include enough material to provide a sense of the scope and depth of coverage, as well as a brief biography of the speaker(s). Tutorial presenters will receive a modest honorarium.


Program Co-chairs: Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, University of Milan, Italy

                            Paul Syverson, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Industry and Government Track Chair: Patrick McDaniel, Penn State University, USA
General Chair: Peng Ning, NC State University, USA
Publicity Chairs: Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA
Publication Chair: David Evans, University of Virginia, USA
Tutorials Chair: Wenliang (Kevin) Du, Syracuse University, USA
Treasurer: Sencun Zhu, Penn State University, USA
Workshops Chair: Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA


Steering Committee:

Sushil Jajodia (Chairman), George Mason University, USA Carl A. Gunter, University of Illinois, USA
Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan, Italy Ravi Sandhu, George Mason University, USA

Program Committee:

Martín Abadi, UC Santa Cruz & Microsoft Research, USA
Gail-Joon Ahn, UNC Charlotte, USA
Mikhail Atallah, Purdue University, USA
Giuseppe Ateniese, The Johns Hopkins University, USA
Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA
Dan Boneh, Stanford University, USA
Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Marco Cremonini, University of Milan, Italy
David Dagon, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
George Danezis, K.U. Leuven, Belgium
Robert Deng, Singapore Management University, Singapore
Claudia Diaz, K.U. Leuven, Belgium
Sven Dietrich, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Roger Dingledine, The Free Haven Project, USA
Wenliang (Kevin) Du, Syracuse University, USA

Matt Edman, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Alberto Escudero-Pascual, IT46, Sweden
Simone Fischer-Huebner, Karlstad University, Sweden
Virgil Gligor, University of Maryland at College Park, USA
Philippe Golle, Palo Alto Research Center, USA
Dieter Gollmann, TU Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Rachel Greenstadt, Harvard University, USA
Markus Jakobsson, Indiana University, USA
Somesh Jha, University of Wisconsin, USA
Ari Juels, RSA Laboratories, USA
Angelos Keromytis, Columbia University, USA
Christopher Kruegel , Technical University Vienna, Austria
Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Peng Liu, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
Heiko Mantel , RWTH Aachen, Germany

Nick Mathewson, The Free Haven Project, USA
John McHugh, Dalhousie University, Canada
Ludovic M, Supélec, France
Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Gerome Miklau, University of Massachusetts, USA
John Mitchell , Stanford University, USA
David Molnar, UC Berkeley, USA
Yi Mu, University of Wollongong, Australia
Steven Murdoch, University of Cambridge, UK
Stefano Paraboschi, University of Bergamo, Italy
Bart Preneel , K.U. Leuven, Belgium
Peter Ryan, Newcastle University, UK
Kazue Sako, NEC Corporation, Japan
Pierangela Samarati , University of Milan, Italy
Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Vitaly Shmatikov, University of Texas, USA
Radu Sion, Stony Brook, USA
Einar Snekkenes, Gjøvik University College, Norway
Salvatore Stolfo, Columbia University, USA
Jonathan T. Trostle, ASK Consulting and Research, USA
Nicholas Weaver, Int. Computer Science Institute, USA
Vicky Weissman, Cornell University, USA
William Winsborough, Univ. of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Marianne Winslett, University of Illinois, USA
Matthew Wright, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Alec Yasinsac, Florida State University, USA
Ting Yu, North Carolina State University, USA
Jianying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Sencun Zhu, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
Mary Ellen Zurko, IBM, USA