ACM SIGSAC Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
ACM CCS 2006

Call for Papers


[Submissions are closed.]

The conference seeks submissions from academia and industry presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of computer security, as well as case studies and implementation experiences. Papers should have practical relevance to the construction, evaluation, application, or operation of secure systems. Theoretical papers must make convincing argument for the practical significance of the results. Theory must be justified by compelling examples illustrating its application. The primary criterion for appropriateness for CCS is demonstrated practical relevance. CCS may therefore reject perfectly good papers that are appropriate for theory-oriented conferences.

Topics of interest include:

access control
secure networking
accounting and audit
trust models
key management
intrusion detection
security location services
data and application security
privacy-enhancing technology
inference/controlled disclosure
intellectual property protection
digital rights management
trust management policies
phishing and countermeasures
commercial and industry security
security management
database security
applied cryptography
peer-to-peer security
security for mobile code
cryptographic protocols
data/system integrity
information warfare
identity management
security in IT outsourcing

Paper Submissions:

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Submissions should be at most 15 pages excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point font, single-column text, and reasonable margins on letter-size paper). Please include page numbers on all submissions to make it easier for reviewers to provide helpful comments. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Authors should be advised that the page limit for the final proceedings version will be 10 pages in double-column ACM format, although they will have the option of buying a limited number of extra pages. All submissions should be appropriately anonymized (i.e., papers should not contain author names or affiliations, or obvious citations). Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at Only pdf or postscript files will be accepted.

Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of May 6, 2006 17:00 EDT (UTC-4). Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published by the ACM in a conference proceedings. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in a special issue of the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security.

Fraudulent submission policy. Simultaneous submission of the same work to multiple venues, submission of previously published work, and plagiarism constitute dishonesty or fraud. CCS, like other scientific and technical conferences and journals, prohibits these practices and may, on the recommendation of a program chair, take action against authors who have committed them. In some cases, program committees may share information about submitted papers with other conference chairs and journal editors to ensure the integrity of papers under consideration. Violation of these principles is a serious matter and will be treated as such.

Important dates:

Paper Submissions due by the extended deadline: May 6, 2006 17:00 EDT (UTC-4) Submission deadline passed.
Acceptance notification: July 22, 2006
Camera-ready papers due: August 28, 2006 (9am EST) (Date extended from the 21st)

Tutorial Submissions:

Proposals for 90-minute tutorials on research topics of current and emerging interest should be submitted electronically by May 6, 2006. Tutorial proposals must clearly identify the intended audience and any prerequisite knowledge for attendees. Proposals must be no more than one page, and must include enough material to provide a sense of the scope and depth of coverage, as well as a brief biography of the speaker(s). Tutorial presenters will receive a modest honorarium.


Program Chair: Rebecca Wright, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Program Co-chair: Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, University of Milan, Italy
Industry and Government Track Chair: Peter Dinsmore, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab, USA
General Chair: Ari Juels, RSA Laboratories, USA
Publicity Chairs: Angelos Keromytis / Michael E. Locasto, Columbia University, USA
Publication Chair: Vitaly Shmatikov, University of Texas, USA
Tutorials Chair: Wenliang (Kevin) Du, Syracuse University, USA
Treasurer: Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA
Workshops Chair: Marianne Winslett, UIUC, USA

Program Committee:

Carlisle Adams, University of Ottawa, Canada
Giuseppe Ateniese, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA
Michael Backes, Saarland University, Germany
Giampaolo Bella, Università di Catania, Italy
John Black, University of Colorado, USA
Nikita Borisov, UIUC, USA
Jan Camenisch, IBM Research, Switzerland
Rosario Gennaro, IBM T. J. Watson, USA
Michael Goodrich, UC Irvine, USA
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Trent Jaeger, Penn State University, USA
Markus Jakobsson, Indiana University, USA
Somesh Jha, University of Wisconsin, USA
Trevor Jim, AT&T Research, USA
Jonathan Katz, University of Maryland, USA
Brian Levine, U Mass Amherst, USA
Ninghui Li, Purdue University, USA
Peng Liu, Penn State University, USA
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
Patrick McDaniel, Penn State University, USA
Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Nasir Memon, Polytechnic University, USA
John Mitchell, Stanford University, USA
Refik Molva, Institut Eurecome, Sophia Antipolis, France
Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Phillip Porras, SRI International, USA
Rei Safavi-Naini, University of Wollongong, Australia
Reiner Sailer, IBM T. J. Watson, USA
Pierangela Samarati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Andre Scedrov, University of Pennsylvania, USA
R. Sekar, SUNY Stony Brook, USA
Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Sean Smith, Dartmouth College, USA
Dawn Song, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Jessica Staddon, Palo Alto Research Center, USA
Giovanni Vigna, UC Santa Barbara, USA
Poorvi Vora, George Washington University, USA
Susanne Wetzel, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Shouhuai Xu, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Alec Yasinsac, Florida State University, USA
Ting Yu, North Carolina State University, USA
Sheng Zhong, SUNY Buffalo, USA