ACM SIGSAC Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
ACM CCS 2005

Call for Papers


Papers offering novel research contributions in any aspect of computer security are solicited for submission to the Twelfth ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security. The primary focus is on high-quality original unpublished research, case studies, and implementation experiences. Papers should have practical relevance to the construction, evaluation, application, or operation of secure systems. Theoretical papers must make convincing argument for the practical significance of the results. Theory must be justified by compelling examples illustrating its application. The primary criterion for appropriateness for CCS is demonstrated practical relevance. CCS can therefore reject perfectly good papers that are appropriate for theory-oriented conferences.

Topics of interest include::

access control
security for mobile code
cryptographic protocols
key management
information warfare
applied cryptography
privacy and anonymity
secure networking
accounting and audit
data/system integrity
intrusion detection
security management
security verification
database and system security
smart-cards and secure PDAs
inference/controlled disclosure
intellectual property protection
commercial and industry security

Paper Submissions:

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers should be at most 15 pages excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point font and reasonable margins on letter-size paper). Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Authors should be advised that the page limit for the final proceedings version will be 10 pages in double-columned ACM format, although they will have the option of buying a limited number of extra pages. All submissions should be appropriately annonymized (i.e., papers should not contain author names or affiliations, or obvious citations). Submissions are to be made to the web site Only pdf or postscript files will be accepted. Submission size should ideally be less than 1MB and no more than 2MB. Authors who have difficulty with the 2MB size limit should inform the program chair by email to Papers must be received by the deadline of May 8, 2005. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference and published by the ACM in a conference proceedings. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in a special issue of the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security.

Important dates:

Paper Submissions Due: May 8, 2005
Decisions Due: July 29, 2005
Final Papers Due: August 28, 2005

Tutorial Submissions:

Proposals for 90 minute tutorials on research topics of current and emerging interest should be submitted electronically by May 8, 2005. Tutorial proposals must clearly identify the intended audience and any prerequisite knowledge for attendees. Proposals must be no more than three pages, and must include enough material to provide a sense of the scope and depth of coverage, as well as a brief biography of the speaker(s). Tutorial presenters will receive a small honorarium.


General Chair: Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA
Program Chair (Research Track): Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Program Chair (Industry Track): Ari Juels, RSA Laboratories, USA
Tutorials Chair: Rebecca Wright, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Proceedings Chair: Paul Syverson, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Publicity Chair: Gail-Joon Ahn, Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Treasurer: Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA
Steering Committee: Sushil Jajodia (Chair), Ravi Ganesan, Pierangela Samarati, Ravi Sandhu

Program Committee::

David Basin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Dan Boneh, Stanford University, USA
Jan Camenisch, IBM Research, Switzerland
Pierpaolo Degano, University of Pisa, Italy
George Dinolt, Naval Postgraduate School, USA
Yevginiy Dodis, New York University, USA
Joan Feigenbaum Yale University, USA
Stephanie Forrest, University of New Mexico, USA
Cédric Fournet Microsoft Research, UK
Dieter Gollman, TU Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Roberto Gorrieri, University of Bologna, Italy
Joshua Guttman MITRE, USA
Cynthia Irvine, Naval Postgraduate School, USA
Somesh Jha, University of Wisconsin, USA
Jonathan Katz, University of Maryland, USA
Angelos Keromytis, Columbia University, USA
Carl Landwehr, University of Maryland, USA
Peeter Laud, Universiy of Tartu, Estonia
Ninghui Li, Purdue University, USA
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
Hiroshi Maruyama, IBM Japan, Japan
John Mitchell, Stanford University, USA
George Mohay, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Mats Näslund, Ericcson Research, Sweden
Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Hilarie Orman, Purple Streak, USA
Radia Perlman, Sun Microsystems, USA
Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA
Rei Safavi-Naini, University of Wollongong, Australia
Andre Scedrov, U Penn, USA
Kang Shin, University of Michigan, USA
Vitaly Shmatikov, University of Texas, USA
Dawn Song, Carnegie-Mellon University, USA
Giovanni Vigna, UC Santa Barbara, USA
David Wagner, UC Berkeley, USA
Dan Wallach, Rice University, USA
Andreas Westfeld, TU Dresden, Germany
Marianne Winslett, University of Illinois, USA
Rebecca Wright, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Lenore Zuck, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA